You are here » Home > News > Racing News > News 2015 > Sunoco Challenge Winners At Daytona on Motors TV


Sunoco Daytona Challenge winners on Motors TV

Monday 17th March 2014

Whelen_Crop_main.jpg Camaro_crop.jpg

Didn't catch the Rolex 24 At Daytona? not despair because we have highlights from the weekend featuring our two Sunoco Challenge winners, Bradley Smith, driving in car #31 in the Rolex 24 At Daytona and Lewis Plato, driving in car #62 in the IMSA 200 which is on after the Sebring Highlights from the Tudor United SportsCar Championship tonight and throughout the week. What a great weekend over in the states and a fantastic start to the season. Who will be our lucky winner next year?


Monday 17th March - 00:10 (Tues AM)

Tuesday 18th March - 16:50

Thursday 20th March - 11:05

Sunday 23rd March - 20:00

Wednesday 26th March - 20:30

Thursday 27th March - 15:15

Monday 17th March - 00:15 (Tues AM)

Tuesday 18th March - 16:50

Thursday 20th March - 14:00

Saturday 22nd March - 03:00 (Sun AM)

Thursday 24th March - 15:15

Catch it on  - SKY 447, Freeview 240, VIRGIN 545



About the Sunoco Rolex 24 At Daytona Challenge and 200 Challenge

The Sunoco Daytona Challenge ran for the first time in 2009 and, due to its ever-increasing popularity, has continued ever since. The prize is a fully sponsored drive in a Daytona Prototype in the legendary Rolex 24 At Daytona race, which is held each year in January.

The award is presented to the highest-scoring driver competing in one of the qualifying series or championships where Sunoco is the official fuel supplier. Points are awarded to the first ten finishers in each race, as well those who achieve pole position and set the fastest lap. At the end of the year the points are averaged by the total being divided by the number of races held in the season. This method of calculating the final score provides competitors with a level playing field, whatever championship they are contesting.

The qualifying championships for the 2013 race season were: Britcar MSA British Endurance Championship Classes 1, 2 & 3; SPEED EuroSeries; Radical SR3 Challenge; Radical Masters Euroseries class SR3 & SR8. Registered racers in 2013: 70

In-keeping with the main award, the winner of the 200 Challenge is also decided from a points scoring system that is averaged by the number of rounds during the season but, in this case, from different race series. This included the following Sunoco fuelled series in 2013: F3 Cup, Radical Challenge, Mini Challenge, GT Cup and the Dutch SuperCar Championship.

The qualifying series for 2014 are to be announced soon.


The History behind the Challenge

The Rolex 24 At Daytona in the US, promoted by the Daytona International Speedway, is one of the biggest and most famous and prestigious 24hr sports car races in the world. At an initial discussion at the Park Lane NASCAR cocktail party, in early autumn 2008, a suggestion was made by Jim France, Vice Chairman/ Executive Vice President for NASCAR and Chairman/CEO of the ISC, to Anders Hildebrand, Managing Director of AAOC, to set up a Sunoco/Rolex 24 end of the year prize. The idea behind this initiative was to provide a race seat in the Rolex 24 in a Daytona Prototype, whilst increasing awareness of the GRAND-AM racing (now known as IMSA). AAOC would use this prize to promote Sunoco race fuels in Europe and at the same time promote the Rolex 24 At Daytona to the series and championships for which Sunoco is the official fuel supplier in Europe. The series and championships involved in this prize should only be ones where the quality of the drivers matches the requirements needed to compete at the Rolex 24. Thus was born the Sunoco Daytona Challenge, arguably the most valuable motorsport prize available in UK motorsport.




© 2017 Anglo American Oil