You are here » Home > Challenge > Hall of Fame

Sunoco Challenge Hall of Fame

Over the past 7 years the Sunoco Challenge has produced worthy and impressive winners who have gone on to represent our brand and the Rolex 24 At Daytona better than we could have ever expected. This year was no exception, for the 2015 Challenges we had two extremely capable winners who certainly impressed out in Daytona in January 2015.

Congraulations to our 2016 Challenge winners from the 2015 season. 2016 Sunoco Whelen Challenge Champion Jonny Adam and 2016 Sunoco 200 Challenge Champion Paddy McClughan. Keep tuned for news from their drives out in Daytona in January 2016.

The 2015 Sunoco Whelen Challenge Winner, Phil Keen, took testing and practice sessions in his stride, then went on to smash some top lap times up there with the front runners of the field to finally finish in 4th in class in the Rolex 24 At Daytona despite a 17 lap visit to the garage when the car experienced problems. Despite this, with the winning organisation, Action Express, running the team and an experienced driver line up, together they managed to get an excellent result and showed that winning the Sunoco Whelen Challenge Winner more than earnt his drive.

The Sunoco 200 Challenge (formally known as GRAND-AM) was launched in 2011 and since then the winner has driven with the Mitchum Motorsports team. 2015 Sunoco 200 Challenge winner Oskar Krüger was no exception to this, getting expert tuition from the team to go on to handle the Sunoco liveried Camaro in the BMW Performance 200. Together with team-mate Dylan Murcott, Oskar managed some top lap times before mechanicial issues caused the car to retire early from the race. However, they still achieved an awesome 17th final place.

For the latest information, news and standings please visit our website at



2016 Sunoco Whelen Challenge winner: Jonny Adam

Final point score: 92.58
Race series: British GT

Rolex 24 team: Whelen #31 run by Action Express

Rolex 24 finish: TBC




2016 Sunoco 200 Challenge winner: Paddy McClughan

Final point score: 102.40
Race series: Radical Sprint

BMW Performance 200 team: Mitchum Motorsports

BMW Performance 200 finish: TBC



2015 Sunoco Whelen Challenge winner: Phil Keen

Final point score: 89.61
Race series: Radical SR3 Challenge

Rolex 24 team: Whelen #31 run by Action Express

Rolex 24 finish: 4th in Class - 6th Overall



2015 Sunoco 200 Challenge winner: Oskar Krüger

Final point score: 101.56
Race series: Radical Clubman's Cup (PR6)

BMW Performance 200 team: Mitchum Motorsports

BMW Performance 200 finish: 17th position



2014 winner: Bradley Smith

Final point score: 115.71

Race series: Radical SR3 Challenge

Rolex 24 team: Whelen Sponsored Marsh Racing

Rolex 24 finish: 10th in Class




2014 winner: Lewis Plato

Final point score: 109.06

Race series: Radical Clubman's

Sportscar Challenge team: Mitchum Motorsports

Sportscar Challenge finish:  18th 

Ivan Bellarosa

2013 winner: Ivan Bellarosa

Final point score: 124.38

Race series: SPEED EuroSeries

Rolex 24 team: Starworks Motorsport

Rolex 24 finish: DNF due to cracked gearbox


Lawrence Davey

2013 winner: Lawrence Davey

Final point score: 85.94

Race series: Legends

GRAND-AM 200 team: Mitchum Motorsports

GRAND-AM 200 finish: 23rd

Felipe Nasr

2012 winner: Felipe Nasr

Final point score: 77.25

Race series: British Formula 3

Rolex 24 team: Michael Shank Racing

Rolex 24 finish: 3rd 


Aaron Steele

2012 winner: Aaron Steele

Final point score: 113.00

Race series: F3 Cup

GRAND-AM 200 team: Mitchum Motorsport

GRAND-AM 200 finish: DNF due to engine problems

 Ross Kaiser

2011 winner: Ross Kaiser

Final point score: 107.50

Race series: Radical

Rolex 24 team: Doran Racing

Roelx 24 finish: DNF


Derek Johnstone

2010 winner: Derek Johnston

Final point score: 77.50

Race series: Radical

Rolex 24 team: Doran Racing

Rolex 24 finish: 10th



© 2017 Anglo American Oil