You are here » Home > Challenge

The Sunoco Challenges

2017 Sunoco Whelen ChallengeSunoco-Whelen-Challenge-logo.png

1674239.0003_-_Copy.jpgThe 2017 Sunoco Whelen Challenge continues to be provided in partnership with Whelen Engineering in the USA and Anglo American Oil Company Ltd in the UK. Drivers from selected Sunoco-fuelled championships competed against each other throughout the season with a chance of winning a fully paid-for race seat in the Whelen sponsored Prototype in the Rolex 24 At Daytona in January 2017. British GT's Jonny Adam went on to be crowned the 2016 Sunoco Whelen Challenge winner and impressed the team and other racers when he raced in January. Who will be this season's Champion?

The formally known Sunoco Daytona Challenge was the first Challenge provided by Daytona and promoted by the Anglo American Oil Company on behalf of Sunoco. The Challenge was put in place between Sunoco and Daytona to help expand GRAND-AM’s international exposure and give an exceptional opportunity for a European driver to promote an international career. The GRAND-AM Road racing association and ALMS merged in 2012 to begin the 2014 season with a unified series to be sanctioned by IMSA, called the TUDOR United Sportscar Championship, this is set to continue in 2016.

The eligible championships for the 2016 season are: British GT3 (Pro), Radical European Masters and Radical Team Challenge (Pro). 

Sunoco-Challenge-200-logo.png2017 Sunoco 200 Challenge

N2O_1110_-_Copy.JPGThe 2017 Sunoco 200 Challenge provides a winner, from alternative Sunoco fuelled Championships (those that are not eligible for the Sunoco Whelen Challenge) with a race seat in the Sunoco liveried Mustand during the 200-mile endurance race on the Friday before the Rolex 24 At Daytona. 2016 Sunoco 200 Challenge winner Paddy McClughan took on the muscle car during this year's 200 mile race and really impressed the team during his chance of a lifetime. But who will take the prize drive next January?

The eligible championships for the 2016 season are: British GT4, F3 Cup, GT Cup, Radical Team Solo Challenge, Britcar, MINI Challenge and British GT3 (AM). 

 For more information go to


© 2017 Anglo American Oil